Dear The Balvenie Doublewood


Dear The Balvenie Doublewood,

Thank you for giving an occasional, enthusiastic but uninformed whisky drinker a genuine and concise Reason to Believe, something I can really hook into that makes me feel as though I’m making a properly discerning decision. For all I know, it’s an abominable heresy to transfer a whisky from a traditional oak whisky cask to a first fill Spanish oak sherry cask during maturation, but to me, it sounds (and tastes) like true craftsmanship – but with a subtle and modern twist.

Unsophisticated as my whisky tastebuds are, in a bewildering golden sea of Scotch uncertainty, my experience is so greatly enhanced by the knowledge that “the traditional casks, having previously held bourbon, soften and add character, whilst the sherry wood brings depth and fullness of flavour,”  that my purchase decision, for now and the foreseeable future, is made. And with a transferable RTB like that, it won’t be too long before I sample the PortWood too.

Ned

The Balvenie

Leave a Reply

