Dear Seksy

Dear Seksy,

Thank you for making me laugh out loud – but more out of horror and shocked wonderment than humour I’m afraid – and for reminding me of some of the potential branding pitfalls out there. Lots of reasons to thank you:

Thank you for reminding me of the crucial branding difference between simply claiming to be something, and actually being that thing. Has there ever been a person who has shouted at the top of their voice “I’m sexy, I’m sexy, I’m sexy!” and actually been sexy as a result?

Thank you for your misspelt / pun-style name which seems – to me at least – to be the sort of name that the “Local Hairdresser Brand Naming Academy” would have rejected on the grounds that it was just too awful. Personally, I think that misspelt / pun-style name can only work when the tongue is firmly in the cheek, as per Judy Rothchild’s boot brand:

Thank you for your loyalty to the pun – my shock was compounded when I saw your Christmas TV ad. Other brands would have stopped at a simple brand name pun, but you have chosen to demonstrate your unwavering commitment to the form by selecting  “First time I ever Saw your Face” as the soundtrack. So bad, it’s almost good:

And finally thank you for reminding me that one really should think quite hard about how to go about targeting women. Just going for a pink logo and sticking on some sparkly bits doesn’t really cut the mustard I’m afraid.

Thanks for everything.

Ned

http://www.seksy.co.uk/

PS – On reflection, I think you might be being quite clever. Maybe you’re not targeting women at all. Maybe you’re targeting clueless blokes who are desperate to remedy their appalling present-buying track record. Maybe Seksy is a competitive portfolio play, you don’t care about the brand at all, safe in the knowledge that the clueless bloke Christmas sales will justify the whole thing. Maybe.

One thought on “Dear Seksy

  1. Pingback: Dear Quaker Oat So Simple « Ned says thank you

Leave a Reply

