Dear BBC TWO

Dear BBC TWO,

Thank you for your idents. I marvel at your ability to refresh them over and over again. Just when I thought there was nothing more you could do with the shape of a 2, you manage to do it.

Formidable.

The 2-shaped framing device (it’s called the “Window on the World” apparently) is a beautiful thing – I love the breadth of the scope that it affords.

And here’s my all time favourite. Mesmerising.

And what about that soundtrack? Sublime.

I could go on and on, but luckily someone has put a bunch of the older ones – which I also love, although wow they look dated now – together into a compilation. Enjoy.

But what can I say about the latest efforts from BBC One HD?

If this is what the world in HD is going to look like, then please stop the world, I want to get off.

Horrendous. Really very poor indeed.

Had I not already been falling off the sofa in horror when I first saw this, I wouldn’t have batted an eyelid had Graham Norton concluded that “BBC one never looked so bad“.

The soundtrack, by Groove Armada, is this abomination’s only redeeming feature.

Thanks again BBC TWO.

Must try harder BBC one HD.

Ned

Leave a Reply

