Dear Carling

carling-logo-300x250

Dear Carling,

Thanks for re-showing this ad – it still makes me smile. I love the way you take the language of a Saturday night out and put it into orbit:

And thanks for being a really good example that demonstrates the differences between a Brand Positioning, an Advertising Idea / Platform and an Ad Execution.

Brand Positioning – Belonging

Advertising Idea / Platform – You know who your mates are

Ad Execution – Space

Space is my favourite, but here are 3 more Ad Executions – Explorer; Desert; Wild West – which further demonstrate the principle and also make me chuckle:


Despite these ads, the likelihood of me and my mates necking copious pints of Carling next weekend remains negligible I’m afraid. But that doesn’t matter as I suspect we’re outside your target market and it doesn’t mean that I can’t and don’t admire what you’re doing.

Thanks Carling.

Ned

2 thoughts on “Dear Carling

  1. Pingback: Dear Honda (again) « Ned says thank you

  2. Pingback: Dear Fosters « Ned says thank you

Leave a Reply

