Dear Bupa

Dear Bupa,

Thank you for your masterbrand growth strategy and for showing us – contrary to the received wisdom pedaled by some branding experts – that ubiquity (the enemy of focus) is not necessarily a bad thing and that featuring a very broad “target audience” in brand communication can actually be very desirable.

Thank you for making me think about the differences between:

  • Sales target – the people you want to pick up the phone (or ideally sort themselves out online)
  • Brand target – the people with whom you’re trying to create a deep emotional connection
  • Dramatis personae – the people who feature in your advertising

Thanks for allowing the Sales and Brand targets to see a glimpse of themselves, their family and their friends – in other the words the things that really matter to them – in the Dramatis personae…focus and ubiquity in one. Nice.

And thanks in particular for the way you have turned your fundamental human insight “Treat me as an individual, I’m different, my health needs are different” into the Guess what – I’m not a robot refrain for the backing track. Love it.

On a different note, thanks for reminding me of this ad from John Lewis, which works for fundamentally similar reasons – I can watch it again and again:

Both you Bupa, and you John Lewis, make me think of Martini’s infamous Martini Time of Day – Anytime, Anyplace, Anywhere , but with the huge difference that you’ve created communication that says My-time, My-place, My-where. Martini on the other hand just left people thinking –  No-time, No-place, No-where. Here are the Martini ads for old times sake:

And just for good measure (no pun intended), check out the 80s in all their glory:

That mood altering music style shift after 10 seconds is formidable.

Thanks

Ned

PS – I think I’ll save this…… for another time

One thought on “Dear Bupa

  1. Pingback: Dear VW (once again), « Ned says thank you

Leave a Reply

