Dear BBC iPlayer

Dear BBC iPlayer,

Thank you for making me feel that I’m vaguely up to speed with technology…I consider myself to be more of a technophile than a technophobe, but boy it’s hard to keep up.

I’m sure the really early adopters have been connecting their laptops to their TVs to watch you for ages now, but for me it’s a relatively new thing.

And now that I’ve bought a connector thingy that means the sound now comes out of the TV, not the tinny laptop speakers (via an HDMI cable and the “Thunderbolt port”), you’re pretty much like watching a DVD. Great.


Also thanks for helping to shift perceptions of the BBC brand.

Perennially accused of being a stuffy, unwieldy behemoth, significant but relatively small things like Doctor Who, 1Xtra and 6 Music certainly help to modernise the brand, but the parts don’t really add up to a greater, more modern, whole.

But now that the Beeb is beginning to get you – BBC iPlayer – into the license-paying mainstream, it feels like Auntie is living up to her Charter once again. Informing, Educating and Entertaining people. But on their terms. Power to the people, individual tailoring, engagement – all excellent brand (relationship) building stuff!

In the most simple terms, you go to show that delivering the same thing (in your case content) via a new channel can dramatically affect how brands are perceived – both good and bad.

Draught Guinness at home on the sofa? From a Can? Thanks to a “widget”?

Good for convenience and therefore volume, not quite so good for the brand magic created by the two-part pour, the swirl and settle, and all the anticipation that goes with it, that I get down at the Dog & Duck.

A trade-off worth making in my book, but it reminds us that absolutely everything a brand does affects how it’s perceived.

And finally, thanks for giving me the chance to watch Secrets of the Pop Song.

I missed it first time round, but seeing Guy Chambers at work has completely changed – in a good way – how I listen to the radio. Sadly no longer available – please can you put it back so I can watch it again, again?

Thanks again

Ned

Leave a Reply

