Dear VW (once again),

Dear VW,

I know, I know, I’ve thanked you before and easily more than any other brand (here), but I just have to thank you again for your most recent Polo advertising – which is absolutely brilliant:

With an unhealthy dose of un-insightful garbage out there, it’s such a joy when brands like you manage to do something that actually connects with real people. Me being one of them.

OK, I am somewhat biased.

I’m the Dad of a daughter – which means I do and fully anticipate doing all those things in the ad.

(Including – and most importantly for you – buying my daughter a Polo in the future.)

I’m a big fan of yours anyway.

And I tend to well-up when watching DIY SOS, so it’s not hard to twang my heartstrings.

But nonetheless, the ad is a wonderful thing and it doesn’t matter a jot that it’s similar to the John Lewis ad about which I posted when thanking Bupa here.

No doubt you’ve seen the latest dancing animal drivel from Volvic Touch of Fruit and shared my exasperation at the total lack of reality:  gallingly made-up / fake summer mountain scenery; CGI dancing squirrels & hedgehogs; generically good-looking (poor acting) couple straight from the pages of Getty Images…

Ugh!

Thank goodness you’re out there VW, doing your stuff so brilliantly and so insightfully.

Thanks again VW.

Ned

One thought on “Dear VW (once again),

  1. Pingback: Dear Brittany Ferries | Ned says thank you

Leave a Reply

